Crossroads

So this week, the sun came out! Only for a bit, but long enough that I could actually get out into the forest and take some pics. I have taken a few recently, which you can see on my flickr, but the one I’m most pleased with is my panorama of the crossroads:

Crossroads (click to enlarge)

Crossroads (click to enlarge)

I think the thing I love most about it is the light leaking over the horizon, which is a result of it being sightly misty in the distance im guessing. I love how the colours have come out, although I had to work quite hard to get end result, especially from the sky.

This is HRD’d from a single exposure, which didn’t really bring out much in the way colours in the sky. If you’ve ever tried HDR you’ll be familiar why the GREY SKY OF DEATH, which is just devoid of colour, becoming an overbearing grey mass over you’re actual shot.

Trey Ratcliff has a good technique for getting over this, which I recommend you go and read. Just Google “Stuck In Customs” and look for his HDR tutorial.

There is a little bit of texture in this shot, but not much, a little bit of high pass overlay to bring out the detail and a tweaking of the colours. All in all I think this was about 2 hours from start to finish, which is quite a long time tbh, but those colours are worth it ;)

~ by the2percent on February 27, 2011.

Leave a Reply

 
