stuck in customs – hdr tutorial

This site is something that Im hoping I can use as two things: on the one side I want it to be my photo journal with all my photography and journies on here, and on the other hand I want it to be a library of all the awesome resources that I have, and will continue, to get my hands on. To this end, this is the first post in the latter category.

The tutorial in this post refers to something called High Dynamic Range photography, or HDR. It is a technique which involves taking multiple shots of the same scene at varying exposures and blending them together to get a much wider range of colours that you would normally get with a single exposure. If done right, this technique can produce some truly stunning photography, but its very hard to get right. HDR is easily overdone, and images can look seriously eye watering if you have got your tone mapping all to cock.

I must have gone through 50 tutorials on how to create varying types of HDR images, but there was one that stood out for me, and helped me to create my method for creating some really nice HDR photography.

Stuck In Customs is the site and blog of photographer Trey Ratcliff, who is rapidly becoming one of my most favourite photographers. He has a real nack for capturing a scene, and while some of his photos can be a little overwhelming for my taste, most are truly stunning peices of work.

Check out the tutorial here: http://www.stuckincustoms.com/hdr-tutorial/

This is the kind of amazing work you can produce using HDR:

a HDR photograph of times square by Trey Ratcliff of Stuck in Customs

a HDR photograph of times square by Trey Ratcliff of Stuck in Customs

~ by the2percent on March 25, 2009.

Leave a Reply

 
